Archive for June 17th, 2008

Coffee Macarons with Dark Chocolate Ganache

What’s for breakfast today? Macarooooooon…. qiqiiiq, I’m SAHM with a baby and a pre-schooler (on holidays) I need the sugar boost every morning 😉 , actually I wanted to make this, but my dh forgot to buy pistachio last night (although I specifically asked him to please bring some pistachio home, after work 😦  )

So I made a turn to this, trying to expand my “macaron making skill”… daring another recipe… I think once you succeed, you’ll be coming back for more.

I made sure that the white eggs “aged” well, leaved them over night AND zapped them in the microwave for 10 secs, I don’t have oven thermometer, but I try to touch the door of my gas oven just to make sure if its warm enough. I also  literally watch my macarons from the beginning I baked them in (like a child looking behind the candy shop window), making sure that they showed their “legs” in 5 minutes ( I red somewhere, that if they don’t, you can stop baking because it means that your macarons are doomed)

I’m happy with the legs, but not so much with the dof  (un-smooth) top shell’s surfaces.

The process of learning still going on…