Pandan Shades Sesame Seeds Macarons and Express Chocolate Mousse

 mcm4

Instant craving for something made out chocolate is typically my sweet habit (yes, I’m a chocoholic, who isn’t?)… Nigella Lawson’s show brought this express chocolate mousse to my attention and I knew then  I had to make it right away.

While licking my spatula clean, I had a thought that it would be great with some macarons, so why not make macarons too?… great idea isn’t it? Well, the execution was another thing… I learned my lesson the hard way, that express doesn’t  have to mean rushing… I wanted the macarons to be done quickly, added  a pinch of salt in the egg whites to rise quickly, and my macarons came out dry without leg..(either from the salt or me changing the brand of the powder sugar)… my first macaron disaster

Then I had to wait until the next day, because I didn’t have enough almonds to start a new batch.  The next morning I bought some almonds and the old brand powder sugar, so the second time it has to work, hasn’t it?…I was already smiling when I saw those frilly legs coming out, but not to long… because then the tops started to crack. Arrrgh…I think it’s the weather or I’ve lost my “macaronage” touch (yeah…blame it on the rain).

That was the second disaster… but I’m not a quiter… I just had to eat my chocolate mousse with some macarons, so the third batch went to the oven… and.. finally I can be happy🙂

 

mcm6

I used the macaroon recipe from the best food blog 2008, I used 30 gr of sesame powder and 80 gr almond meal, with the colouring, instead of mixing it all  the way through, I just folded it a couple of tuns to leave shades kind of colour.

mcm3

Nigella’s Express Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients

  • 150g mini marshmallows
  • 50g soft butter
  • 250g good dark chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids), chopped into small pieces
  • 60ml hot water from a recently boiled kettle
  • 1 x 284ml tub double cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

 
 
  1. Put the marshmallows, butter, chocolate and water in a heavy-based saucepan.
  2. Put the saucepan on the hob, over heat, though keep it fairly gentle, to melt the contents, stirring every now and again. Remove from the heat.
  3. Meanwhile, whip the cream with the vanilla extract until thick, and then fold into the cooling chocolate mixture until you have a smooth, cohesive mixture.
  4. Pour or scrape into 4 glasses or ramekins, about 175ml each in capacity, or 6 smaller (125ml) ones, and chill until you want to eat. The sooner the better!
   
   
  1. What a delightful and refined dessert! Your macarons look very pretty!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. goodness, you’re the goddess of desserts! I LOVE the sesame seed macaron! And that was a genius idea just barely mixing in the color for extra depth!

    • Y
    • April 3rd, 2009

    Certainly looks like it was worth the effort, what with that chocolate mousse!

  3. Oh, so elegant!

  4. I wish I could dig right into that delicious mousse.

  5. I’ve done pandan macarons… Quite awesome, ey!!

  6. What’s up Dear, are you genuinely visiting this web page regularly, if so then you will definitely get pleasant
    knowledge.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

