Archive for June 24th, 2008

Coca Cola Cupcakes

 

I have this love and hate relationship with coca-cola, as I usually don’t drink soda/pop, but I never can resist the charm of the “coke” (sound so kitch, but what ever 😉 ). When I was pregnant with my first child for the first 3 month I couldn’t drink anything (not even water) but coke, so I used to let the bottle open to take out the gas,  thinking the whole time that it would be bad for the baby, but in the other hand when the girl got to drink , she got to drink.

This recipe I took it from NIggela’s book “How to be a domestic goddess”

INGREDIENTS:

  • 200 gr flour
  • 250 gr caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 175 ml Coca-Cola
  • 125 gr butter
  • 1 egg
  • 125 ml buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

 Icing

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa
  • 3 tablespoons Coca-Cola
  • 225gr icing sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Preaheat the oven to 180’C and In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, bicarb and salt. Beat the egg, butter-milk and vanilla in a measuring jug. in a heavy based saucepan, melt the butter, cocoa and coca-cola, heating it gently. Pour into dry ingredirents, stir well with a wooden spoon, and then add the liquid ingredients from the jug, beating until it is well blended.

Pour into a 12-bun muffin tray and bake for 40 minutes or until a tester come out clean.

Sieve the icing sugar and set aside. In a heavy-based saucepan, combine the butter, Coca-cola and cocoa and stir over a low heat until the butte has melted. remove from the heat, add the vanilla, and spoon in the sieved icing sugar, beating as you do so, until you’ve got a good spreadale but still runny icing.

Pour icing over the cake, while the cake is still warm, and leave till cool before transfering to the plate on which you’re serving it.

 Extra

The Chief of the club tagged me with music meme… to tell the truth I was a music addict before, but now I’ve slowed down, try to leave my “addiction” behind.  Now, music is like a box of gourmet chocolates, I only “eat” it every now and then.

But, nevertheless I have my all time favorites:

  • ONE by U2
  • Desert Rose by  Sting and Cheb Mami
  • Silencio by Ibrahim Ferrer

I also sing “Old mc Donald” and  “Twinkle-Twinkle little star” almost every day with my two munchies 😉

 

 

Â