Sweet Potato Bomboloni

bom1

Another year has past, today is my first blogoversary. I ‘ve been in the blogosphere since year 2005 with different themes of blogs,  but food blog is my lastest and my lasting theme. Usually I’m quickly bored with one theme and easily move to another, but I guess in food blog I really find my  appetite  passion. So here I am, still in love with my simplicious and hopefully will continue to do so 🙂

Today also, I’ve launch  another page containing  my recipe index, have a look and enjoy.

I’m sending this post, to the yeastspotting  over at Zorra of 1x umrühren bitte.

bom2

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sweet potato, boiled
  • 2 1/4  tsp instant yeast
  • 2 tbsp  whole milk, slightly warmed
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • ½ tablespoon butter, at room temperature
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 quarts vegetable oil, for frying

Directions

Mix flour, sugar and yeast in a food processor, add the sweet potato, mix, add milk a spoon at  the time, while it’s still mixing add the butter and egg in, mix again until it form a big ball.Cover with plastic wrap and let the dough proof in the refrigerator for 6 hours or over night.

Line a sheet pan with parchment or wax paper. Remove the dough from the bowl and make balls with two tablespoons. Place the balls, not too close to one another, on the sheet pan, and drape plastic wrap loosely over them. Let the circles proof at room temperature for 30 minutes – they will puff up and out a little.

In a deep pan over medium-heat, warm the oil until it reaches 375˚F. Drop in the balls, a few at a time, and fry them until they’re golden brown, lifting them out of the oil as they are done and draining them on paper towels.

Sprinkle with powder sugar before serving.

  1. Happy first blogoversary Zita. You have a beautiful blog & I love your passion! Here’s to many more years of passionate blogging! xoxox

  2. happy blogoversary! and what a great way to celebrate with those delicious sweet potato balls. bomboloni…what a fun name! haha! say that three times fast!

  3. These bomboloni look delicious! Happy blogoversary and keep up with the great work!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Happy Blogoversary! These sound yummy – like a sweet potato doughnut.

  5. This is one of those things I like saying out loud repeatedly as fast as I can. Preferably after a few drinks 🙂

    Happy 1st!

  6. Happy blogoversary! The bomboloni are the right treat for the celebration party. 😉

  7. hi zita, happy anniversary from me too :-)! I love bomboloni and yours look delicious! I’ll check out your recipe index now 🙂 ..

  8. happy 1st! those doughnuts sure looks good.. and love your pics as well :o)

  9. yuhuuuuuuuuuu!!! kebetulan lagi panen ubi jalar nih… happy 1st yaaa!!

  10. Happy 1st year, Zita! What a great way to celebrate with those lovely bomboloni! I’ve never heard of them before, but what a fun name 😛

  11. What a great way to use sweet potatoes!

  12. First off, a belated Happy Blogiversary! Secondly, WOW, Zita, those sweet potato bombolons look incredible! I ADORE sweet potatoes, and this is one going into my bookmarks!

  13. Sweet potatoes in baking is something I still haven’t tried- but these sound so good! I’m sure they smell great with that added vanilla too. Great photos!

    -Siri

  14. Congratulations on your first year — what a lovely and delicious way to celebrate!

  15. Congratulations on a year of blogging. I’ve been pondering bomboloni for a few years now. I really want to try them but I don’t have the courage to make them (I have a phobia of frying things in my kitchen. The oil spatters scare me.) They sound really, really delicious though.

    • Y
    • April 24th, 2009

    Sweet potato! Yummy! Happy blog anniversary to you 🙂

  16. Better late than never — Happy blog anniversary, Zita!

  17. i’ve missed the line where it is about your blog anniversary the other day and saw it only now… i’m sorry i’m so late at wishing your beautiful blog a long life and much enjoyment to you to bake, cook, take pictures and post…
    joyeux 1er anniversaire, simplicious !

  1. May 19th, 2009

Leave a comment