Avocado Mousse with Coconut Milk Agar-Agar

avomo1

I just adore avocado… sweet or savory,  from spicy guacamole to sweet dessert mousse,  just anything avocado  then I’m in.

This picture is my entry to the (OPEN) Food Photography Challenge # 10 “DARK BACKGROUND”,  I’m not the biggest fan of dark (monochrome) background for food photography, because… it doesn’t match my web page layout…hehe… no just kidding… Playing with natural light it’s more my thing, less exhibitionist more to the casual side,  but also I  sometimes like to do what I normally don’t do…  get my point?…probably not… 😛

Ok, anyway enough with my rambling, let’s move on to the recipe,

Avocado mousse recipe was taken from here, except I omit  the lemon juice.

Coconut Milk Agar-Agar

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 2 teaspoons agar-agar powder
  • 2/3 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Coffee powder for garnish

Directions

  1. Place the water and sugar in a small pan
  2. Sprinkle over the agar-agar powder.
  3. Bring the mixture to the boil
  4. Remove the pan from the heat and add the coconut milk and salt
  5. Pour the mixture into a pan to set.
  6. Chill for at least 1 hour.
  7. Add the mousse on top and sprinkle with coffee powder.

avomo2

  1. This is such a gorgeous presentation! Your blac background makes the picture so elegant!

  2. Love avocados! The photograph is very interesting, great!

  3. The color of the mousse pops against the dark background. Very simple, elegant, and unpretentious. Love it.
    Thanks for the visit, by the way. 🙂

  4. I haven’t tried using a black background yet…I actually need some black cloth or paper! Your pics turned out great! love the styling!

  5. wow.. this is really interesting. i love avocado too. Now this goes to my must-try list :o)

  6. i think you accomplished the “dark background” but the mousse is what i’m drooling over! like you, i love anything with avocado in it. in fact, you’d understand how i was up at 3:30 this morning making the guacamole you saw on my site! Yup! Sure was! 🙂 Hope you had a nice Vday! (oh u must see the fudge truffles i posted yesterday!)

  7. Gorgeous photos! I also love anything to do with avocados, and I will for sure be trying this recipe!

  8. So how did you achieve the background? I’m really interested to know because I’m such a point and click photographer 😦 Can you also suggest a decent camera?

    You know, I grew up with agar-agar, but you’ve just taken it to a sophisticated dimension I’d never have dreamed of.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment