Camembert Pastrami Basil Stromboli

Way back in my college years in Holland, I used to waiter on holidays for 5 stars hotels/restaurants to get some extra pocket money, before that time I could not understand why people choose to have cheese plates for dessert instead of sweets. Then, my love for cheese started to grow because everytime  new cheese supplies came in, the chef always asked every F&B staffs to taste and gave some introduction too, for our product knowledge sake. So, despite of hating the hard work I’ve done, now I’m kind of thankful for my “serving” time, because at least I got some knowledge out of it.

Now, move on with the cheese… I usually just have the basics in my fridge, ricotta, mozarella, cheddar and some blue cheese, but Camembert is special to me because eating it, I feel like eating two kinds of cheeses at the same time… the “skin” part ,I loooove it so much, some people like to take the skin out, but sometime I like to eat only the skin… I’m weird 😛 .

 I like Camembert better than “regular” brie because it has a distinct “little bit longer” after taste, which I can not quite explain why, but maybe from the grass soil that cows in camembert ate or who knows what… for whatever reason, I just like it 🙂 , and the reason why I’m telling you all of this is that there is a “Say Cheese”  food-event , that I just had to send my entry to… yea…the name of the event says it all 🙂

 With this stromboli I try to put 3 different worlds in one dish, french, mid-east and Italian…all of the rustic tastes, enjoy 🙂

 

 

Ingredients

  • 4 Cups bread flour
  • 1/4 Cup barley flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1tsp caster sugar
  • 1,5 tsp fast action dried yeast
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1,5 cups water
  • fresh basil
  • beef pastrami

  • camembert cheese

Directions

  1. Put the flour, salt, sugar and yeast into a large bowl. Add the olive oil then gradually mix in enough warm water to make a soft dough.
  2. Knead well on a lightly floured surface for 5 minutes until the dough is smooth and elastic. put the dough back into the bowl, cover loosely with oiled clingfilm and leave in a warm place to rise 1 hour or until doubled in size
  3. Tip the dough out on to a lightly floured surface and roll out, dust the outside part with barley flour. Arrange the fillings, then cover loosely with oiled clingfilm and leave in a warm place to rise for 15 minutes.
  4. Remove the clingfilm and bake in a preheated oven 200′C for 30 minutes.
  5. Serve while hot.

  1. This sounds delicious. I think I want one right now. 🙂

  2. Haven’t had camembert in a while. The cheese counter is a bit overwhelming that I tend to go for the stinkiest or most colorful ones. Hope I can find that brand you used.

    • Zita
    • July 23rd, 2008

    @ Dragon: it’s great for lunch 🙂

    @ Jude: Am waiting for the coming fig’s season, so I can stroll around the cheese counter : )

  3. Absolutely adore that second picture. I don’t eat cheese, so I can’t say much about the camembert, but I love saying the title of this entry! 😀

  4. I’m imagining the flavour of this and all my imagination is telling me is : delicious delicious… I also love camembert on it’s own and to cook with. I find it ver versatile.

  5. OMG, that looks ever so scrumptious! Really tasty! Yummy!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. this sounds like heaven & so up our alley!

  7. That looks beautiful and wonderfully delish

  8. Fabulous cheese – it’s hard to go past a good camembert. Thank you for the entry!

  9. Did someone just say figs?! Camembert and figs would be heavenly.

  10. Hi, thank you for stopping by my blog. This recipe just looks incredible. It combines some really great ingredients into a pocket of dough. I mean, I can imagine few things better.

  11. May I have some cheese, please? 🙂

  12. Now that looks really good!

  13. you are exactly like me, the first time i arrived in france i couldnt imagine my french family having plate of cheese instead of a good slice of a tart or cake..but i come to appreciate it and i even love it! i really love the sound of this; pastrami, camambert, basil..sooo exquisite!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment