Coconut Rice Pudding Parfait with Strawberry and Mint

merput31

Another Anniversary post for KBB, The Chief decided to host two kinds of competition, cake decorating and food photography, I decided to participate in the last one only. I would like to do both of them but timing seems not to be on my side.

With this post also I would like to inform you guys that maybe posting in Simplicious might be a “little bit” slow , I’m not going to be “Missing  In Action”, still going to tweet from time to time, and promise will be back as soon as possible with a new post.

Without further due,  here is my contribution for KBB challenge #13: Merah Putih-from My Kitchen

merput32-1

Coconut Rice Pudding Parfait with Strawberry and Mint

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup long grain rice
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 can coconut milk (13.5 to14.5 ouce)
  • 4 tbsp packed brow sugar
  • 4 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 7  fresh mint leaves
  • 100 gr strawberries, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Directions

  1. Cook the rice with water and salt to al dente
  2. Stir the whole milk, coconut milk, brow sugar and granulated sugar into the rice, bring the mixture just to a boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat and cook at a bare simmer, stirring frequently at first and constantly toward the end, until the mixture is thick and creamy and the rice is very soft (+/- 30 mins). Transfer to a bowl and let it cool to room temperature, stirring frequently to keep the skin from forming.
  3. Refrigerate the  rice pudding, tightly covered, for at least 4 hours.
  4. To serve,  cut some of the mint leaves into fine shreds. Stir together the strawberry, shredded mint and lemon juice in a medium bowl. Spoon a layer of  2/3 batch of rice pudding into each of 4  short glasses, add 2 tbsp of strawberry mix, top with the rest of pudding batch, add another 2 tbsp of strawberry mix. Garnish each serving with a whole mint leaf.

KBB_13_logo-320pxls

  1. A wonderful rice pudding! Love those flavors!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Just beautiful Zita. What a novel idea too… I’d love to have a parfait like this!

  3. Wah…bikin kepengen liat fotonya, cakep.

  4. fotonya keren banget mba…
    kebayang deh suasana hangat sore hari sambil makan puding.. hhhmmm…

  5. Oh! What a nice combination of flavors, and the presentation is just so awesome!

  6. Hi Zita, I’m sorry I haven’t been around in a while. Your blog has gotten even more delicious in my absence🙂 I love rice pudding!

    I also stopped by to tell you that I finally bought myself a Nikon DSLR, and I love what little I’ve done with it. I’m still fiddling with the buttons and a little scared of going Manual, but I hope to get the hang of it soon. Thank you for the great advice.

    Take care.

  7. I¡¦m no longer positive the place you’re getting your info, however great topic. I must spend a while finding out much more or figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful info I used to be in search of this info for my mission.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

