Soufflé au Fromage

redsouf

This month I had the honour of hosting KBB’s challenge #12, with Arfi and Regina helping along.

Cheese souffle is the challenge this time,  I made it with Gruyère  instead of cheddar and add some chives for some extra bites…making it was quite easy as it was not my first encounter with baking souffles (I  love a quick fix of chocolate souffle), but this is my first time of actually taking a picture of a souffle… and that was the real challenge.

I had to make 2 times of half batch because taking picture of the first batch was a disaster ( I’m afraid it’s kind of my pattern now on doing the challenges:( ), second time was better but still  far from how I wanted… so I guess you will be seeing a few other souffle posts in the future, as I need to practise photographing it🙂 .

csouffle-1

Cheese Souffles

Resource : The Perfect Cookbook by David Herbert. Penguin Books Australia Ltd 2003.

kbb12logo

Ingredients:

  • 100g unsalted butter
  • ½ cup plain (all-purpose) flour
  • 300ml milk
  • 1 cup grated cheddar
  • 2 Tbs  freshly grated Parmesan
  • ½ tsp Dijon mustard
  • pinch  cayenne pepper
  • 4 eggs , separated

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 190C (375F, Gas Mark 5). Grease and lightly flour six ½-cup-capacity souffle dishes.

Melt butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Add the flour and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 minute. Gradually add the milk and whisk continuously over medium heat until the mixture is smooth, thickens and comes to the boil. Allow to cool for 5 minutes.

Transfer the mixture to a bowl and stir in the cheddar, Parmesan, mustard and cayenne pepper. Mix well.

Lightly beat the egg yolks and add these to the cheese mixture. Mix well.

With an electric mixer, whisk the egg whites in a clean bowl until firm peaks form. Fold a quarter of the whites through the cheese mixture to slacken it slightly, then gently fold through the remaining whites.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared dishes and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until risen and golden. Don’t be tempted to open the oven until the souffles have risen. Serve immediately.

csouff2

 

KBB-12 Lulus

  1. Your souffle looks absolutely perfect. Well done. It would have taken me more than two attempts to get it looking like that!

  2. It looks fantastic! A refined dish!

    As usual ypur pictures are just so wonderful…

    May I just correct you… In French, we say “soufflé au fromage”.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Cakeppp suflenya Zit, nice shoots too.

  4. Yum! I made a cheese souffle the other week, with bacon… it was sooo good and this one looks fantastic!

  5. Wiiii…yummyy banget kliatannya. Bagi dong Mba..:D

  6. aaah….souffles are one thing I’ve always dreamed of making, but cheese? I’m absolutely impressedd! It looks fabulous!

  7. Mba Zita soufflenya kereeen… Selamat juga yah udah menang Click kemaren. Thanks buat hosting tantangan bulan Juli. :))

  8. I love cheese soufles they are perfect accompanied with salad for a light lunch.

  9. I love the napkin!🙂 And what are you talking about; the photos here are perfect, sweetie!

  10. I like your chive bow – very cute!

  11. My god, there are so many challenges now, I don’t know where to look or what to join..lol That said, what is KBB? Whatever it is, your cheese souffle turned out gorgeous and I wish I could dive right into it! Beautiful photos too..as I always tell you🙂

Leave a Reply

