Black Glutinous Rice Cake

ck6

I’ve been craving for this steamed cake for a while and  yesterday I finally bought  a coffee grinder, to grind the black glutinous rice.

I don’t know if it’s because the long time waiting or it tasted really that good, but it was one of the most delicious cake I’ve ever make, moist but with a slight harsh texture, sweet yet light to digest (although I kind of digest everything in  light mode even when it’s heavy ;) )

cki2

 Black Glutinous Rice Cake

Recipe taken from here

Ingredients

  • 300 gr Black Glutinous Rice Flour
  • 350 gr sugar
  • 250 cc vegetable oil
  • 200 cc coconut milk
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • butter to moist the pan

Directions

  1. Put water in a steam pot to boil.
  2. Whisk the eggs and sugar with electric mixer until risen, add oil, coconut milk and vanilla, mix well.
  3. Lower the mixer’s speed, add the rice flour gradually, Whisk well.
  4. Pour the batter into the moistened  bundt pan.
  5. Steam for 35-45 minutes (cover the pot lid with cloth to avoid water dripping into the cake )
  1. That’s an unusual recipe! I’ve never seen black glutinous flour… It bet this cake tastes delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. That’s great to hear you can make flour in a coffee grinder! Did it come out smooth, or like wholemeal? Can you set the grinder to different levels?

  3. I, too, never saw black flour, but this cakes seems delicious :-)!!

  4. Hi I just came across your blog today and I loveeeeeeeee it! I can’t wait to try some of your dishes! Thanks for sharing your recipes!

    • Y
    • May 15th, 2009

    What an eye catching cake! I’ve never used black glutinous rice this way before. Great idea!

  5. This one is a must-bookmark, must-make, must-eat. Black sticky rice flour. Coconut milk. Steamed. Zita, you know how to excite a hungry Asian.

  6. this is very interesting… thanks for sharing… :)

  7. awesome.. i haven’t found any black glutinous rice in my Asian market yet! but that cake sure looks delish.. it actually looks like a chocolate cake.

  8. I JUST bought glutinous black rice 2 weeks ago and wondered what to make with it.
    I’m making THIS !!!

  9. yeah, this one is my favorite too :)

    • lily
    • February 9th, 2011

    Wow- i must try it and let you guys know the result.

    • Jeannette Shull
    • January 3rd, 2012

    Could yo give more details on what kind of steamer and pan you used to make this cake?

    • Judy
    • June 2nd, 2012

    Hi I just made this tonight – it is SO delicious! However I found that it separated out during the cooking so the bottom is dense & the top is loose & wettish. I am wondering how to prevent the separation?mjudy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

