Hibiscus Semifreddo

hi1

Have I told you all that I love frozen dessert so much? It was the only major thing that I craved with both of my pregnancies. Any types of  Ice-Cream, Sorbet, Sherbet,  you name it…my freezer always has at least one of them inside. I eat ice cream in 4 seasons. No matter what the weather is… you have ice -cream then  I’m in.

However, I think  this semifreddo is great for spring, slightly sour with floral aroma, smooth but not too rich, lovely colour,very easy to make, whisk and pour, freeze and  Voila! In short… it is perfect just like spring it self🙂

hi2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of dried hibiscus
  • 3/4 cup of boiled water
  • juice of 1 medium lemon
  • 3/4 cup  icing sugar
  • 500ml double cream

Directions

  1. Soak the dried hibiscus with the boiled water and strain the water into a bowl, let it cool for a while.
  2. Add the icing sugar and lemon juice, whisk to dissolve.
  3. Whisk in the double cream and keep whisking until soft peaks form.
  4. Pour and smooth the ice cream into the airtight container  and freeze for at least 4 hours.

hi3

  1. Thar semifreddo looks really refined and delightful! Your pretty pictures are soothing…

    Happy easter!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. This is too lovely! If it’s OK, I posted a link on my edible crafts column at craftgossip.com. Hope to bring you even more clicks! thanks so much for sharing this recipe. (ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com)

  3. isn’t that the flower on the back is wild flower? I love to use that flower too on my pictures:) and yummy ice cream too!

  4. I have some dried hibiscus in my cupboard and have been trying to figure out what to do with it. Thanks for sharing this post, I now know what I’m going to do with my hibiscus! Can’t wait.

  5. This is an elegant and pretty dish.

    • Y
    • April 11th, 2009

    Oh that colour is so pretty! I’m with you – I eat ice cream all year round too!

  6. Oh so beautiful, I simultaneously (4/9/09) posted Hibiscus flowers on my other blog, san pedro daily photo. We are on the same wavelength!
    Lori Lynn

  7. segerrrr ice creamnya, fotonya juga lembut..enak diliat🙂

  8. Mmmm, they all look delicious! Great photos, I love your leaf bowl!

  9. I had a hibiscus ginger sorbet a couple of weeks ago that was so delicious that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. The semifreddo looks similarly delicious but has the added bonus of cream. I must try this!

    • dana
    • May 26th, 2010

    it looks delicious ,easy recipe and
    lovely photos
    i have some dried Hibiscus and i need to bye some double cream and try it

  10. G’day! I was “inspired” by your recipe and made this the other day TRUE!
    Loved the simplicity and versatility too!

    Here’s a photo should you like to view! Thank you!
    http://wp.me/p30jtz-RK

    Cheers!
    Joanne

  1. September 27th, 2010
  2. February 21st, 2013
  3. February 25th, 2013

Leave a Reply

