Strawberry Banana Cupcake with Orange Blossom Banana Frosting

bscc2

I don’t know what’s got into my “better” half’s mind, when he brought home 6 kg bananas… he said those bananas were honey bananas, small but very sweet, now it’s the season, on sale etc…etc…

Yes, of course I love bananas, I love eating on banana leaves, I even used to eat banana’s hearts…. but 6 kilos…. man???

For the sake of not  throwing food away… I made banana smoothie , banana bread, banana pie, banana ice cream, and this is my last attempt on finishing my banana stock… no more banana  at least for the next month😉

bscc3

 

Strawberry Banana Cupcake with Orange Blossom Banana Frosting

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Flour
  • ¼ cup Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Egg
  • ¾ cup Milk
  • ⅓ cup Cooking oil 
  • 5 small  ripe bananas (about 2 medium), mashed
  • 150 gr strawberries diced
  • Directions

    1. Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a cupcake pan with shortening and lightly flour.
    2. Beat all ingredients except bananas,and strawberries in a large bowl with an electric mixer on low speed, scraping bowl occasionally until all is blended.
    3. Beat in bananas on medium speed 2 minutes. Stir in strawberries.
    4. Pour batter into greased pan and bake 20-25  minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes on wire rack, remove from pan to wire rack.

    Frosting

    Ingredients

    • 4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
    • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
    • 1/4 cup sugar
    • 3 small ripe bananas (1 medium), mashed
    • 1/2 teaspoon Orange Blossom essence

    Directions

    Using electric mixer, beat cream cheese and 1 Tbsp butter in medium bowl until light and fluffy. Add 1/4 cup sugar and beat until well blended. Beat in bananas and Orange Blossom essence. Set mixture aside.

    bscc1

    1. It sounds as though you’re on banana overload. Despite that your cupcakes look delicious. Have you tried baked bananas?

    2. What a beautiful blog you have! And a TON of bananas, evidently. Well you’ve made wonderful use of them here. I love bananas, but I don’t know if even I could handle that many!

      • ven
      • March 22nd, 2009

      hiyakakakka mabok dah mpe 6 kilo…tp 6 kilo buat mba zit yg super kreatif ga mslh lah yaa.. dah jd panganan2 yg enak😉

    3. Oh my, 6kg of bananas! But those cupcakes sure look great, though. I love the fact that there’s banana both in the base and the frosting🙂

      • Y
      • March 24th, 2009

      6kgs? Hilarious! The thing is though, bananas are so versatile that I think it would be fantastic, just thinking up different ways to use it all up. Your cupcakes look great and I especially like the sound of that banana frosting!

    4. Such an elegant dessert. 6 kilos of bananas? lol. I’m glad I can buy them for 20c a piece around here🙂

    5. WOW! 6kgs is a lot! Hope you’re not going “bananas” yet! Just kidding… love the cupcake pics.. lovely;)

    6. These are beautiful, Zita. They look so simple but elegant.

      I love everything about bananas too. When you say banana’s hearts, do you mean the inner core of the banana tree trunk? One of my aunts makes a *mean* curry out of those. I love banana blossoms too.

    7. that is too funny.. so you had banana galore in your house! those cupcakes looks divine, and too cute to eat.

    8. SIX KILOS??? Holy guacamole, that is A LOOOOT of bananas! Hahaha. I love how creative you’ve gotten with them though. Those cupcakes are just too adorable for words!

      • Arwen
      • March 27th, 2009

      You did well to use up so many bananas. I have some orange blossom water but I never thought of using it with banana. Nice idea!

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a Reply

