Fresh Ginger Cake with Simmered Oranges

goc2

The mean influenza virus is invading my house, so I need to make some kind of home remedy…

I’m thinking of citrus and ginger… normally I would just boil some water with honey, lemon and crushed fresh ginger, but this time I ‘d like to fancy it up a little.

I made then Dave’s Ginger Cake with Nancy Wall Hopkins’s (Deputy food editor of Better Homes and Gardens) Simmered Oranges, with two “superb” recipes , I believe they have added some extra strength to my immune system😉

ocuts

*This picture is my entry for CLICK: March 2009. (Wood)

Fresh Ginger Cake Recipe adapted from here

** I substitute molasses with honey and I didn’t have ground cloves, so instead I skipped it on the cake and added whole cloves in the simmered oranges

Simmered Oranges

Ingredients

  • 4 oranges, sliced crosswise about 1/4 inch thick, seeds discarded
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice

Directions

  1. Boil water and juices, stir to dissolve sugar
  2. Reduce heat, simmer, uncovered, 10 mins or until syrupy
  3. Add orange slices(and cloves), return to boiling, reduce heat
  4. Simmer, uncovered for 3 mins or until oranges are tender, turning occasionally
  5. Transfer to serving bowl. Cool

goc3

  1. this is beautiful. thank you, zita.

  2. Hope the family gets well soon Zita. I LOVE the flavours in this cake…rich & warm.xoxoxo

  3. I bet it should almost feel good to be sick when you have that to eat! Yummy!

  4. Lol, cake to beat the flu is the best remedy I’ve heard yet!
    Zita, my email address is delaniphilips@gmail.com – I look forward to that email🙂

    By the way, since you suggested the perfect ganache, I’m expecting a recipe. Aren’t I sneaky? Heh heh!

  5. I love ginger even when I’m not sick…and I’d love to eat that cake anytime!

    • ven
    • March 11th, 2009

    hemmmm wangi jahe dan orange….sempurna deh

    jd abis maem cakenya itu virus flu dah pd terbang ya mba…

  6. Yikes, hope you all manage to stay well despite the flu/cold season! This is such a beautifully comforting recipe!

  7. This cakes sounds yummy! and how lovely are your photos… hope you’re feeling better now.

  8. That looks beautiful. It would certainly make me feel better from a cold!

  9. How gorgeous and tasty! This is a fantastic idea. Thanks!

  10. Beautiful and homely entry for clickl

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

