Durian Madeleines with White Chocolate Sprinkles

dmwcc5

Durian, I think is the one fruit that you can say you love  it or you don’t, and there is nothing in between. It has a very distinct taste,  very strong aroma and in my case I love durian, if I could I would eat them everyday. :)

Unfortunately I couln’t eat durian as much as I want, I’m lucky enough that I have stewardeses friends that from time to time could bring me some of them from Thailand. Last holiday I brought some essences to at least ease my longing for “the king of fruit”.

 

dmwcc4

Durian Madeleines with White Chocolate Sprinkles

Recipe adapted from here

Ingredients

1 cup (140g) flour, sifted
1 teaspoon baking powder
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup (200g) sugar
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 stick (4 oz/113g) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 teaspoon durian essence

white chocolate sprinkles

dmwcc

Directions

Preheat the oven to 200ºC/400ºF. Lightly grease two 15 ½-by-9-inch (38×22cm) nonstick madeleine pans.

In a separate small bowl, combine the sifted flour and baking powder. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sugar and brown sugar. Using a spatula, fold in the dry ingredients until just combined; the batter will be slightly stiff. Add the butter and essence, mixing until just combined (do not overmix). Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Spread a heaping tablespoon of the batter evenly into each madeleine cup, sprinkle with white chocolate and bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until a hunchback has formed on the cookies and they are golden brown. Unmold them immediately onto a wire rack and allow them to cool completely.

dmwcc2

  1. These are absolutely adorable! The sprinkles gave a festive touch.

  2. oh wow,
    we call this fruit ASHTA – Sweet Cream in Lebanon, its an exotic fruit and very expensive…. I didnt taste this fruit since some years now…
    I never thought that they sell durian essence ???? very interesting Madeleines thanks for sharing

  3. durian essence. is it available in Jordan? lovely shape of madeleine here.

    • Y
    • March 5th, 2009

    I think I’m in the latter category when it comes to Durians these days, though I used to love them. Your madeleines look lovely, especially with the sprinkles.

  4. beuuggghhh beruntungnya yg punya temen pramugari, dr thai pulak, bisa bawain durian setiap saat…pasti jenis montong ya mba…aarrrggghhh mupeng…

    durian cm dlm mimpi mbaa buatku xixixixi

    btw keknya mba zit hobby bikin madeleine pa yah…nyomot satu aahhh…uppss kurang😉

  5. Zita, you know I adore you. I love your blog (even if I have been absent for too long), I love your photographs, and your recipes always reduce me to a puddle of drool, BUT durians…

    Having said that, they do look amazing🙂

  6. I grew up eating durian so I really like how this sounds🙂 What an unusual flavor for madeleines.

  7. I’d never seen the words durian and madeleine in the same sentence before. But this seems like such a great idea. I’ve had durian sponge cake before and I love it. And madeleines are just little sponge cakes. This is brilliant. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

