Carrot and Celery Gratin

cc2

Carrot and celery remind me of my adolescence year when I used to make hair masker out of them. I still can remember my best friend back then  told me that my hair smelled like soup😉 .

Now days I cook a lot with carrot but not with celery,  celery for me has such a strong aroma and too peppery, so I like to use parsley instead.

When Scott from Real Epicurean informed me that this month “In The Bag” event’s theme is Detox  recipe with the use  of  carrot , celery, and beetroot, I sort of have no choice but to include celery, because for me beetroot is stranger than celery…hehe.

So, here is my attempt of a healthier cooking.

Carrot and Celery Gratin

Ingredients

  • 3 medium carrots, finely grated
  • 1 big celery root, chopped +/- 1 cm
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions

  1. Heat oven for 180′ C
  2. Mix all ingredients except the cheese in bowl, add salt & pepper to the taste
  3. Put the mix in ramekins
  4. Baked for 30 mins
  5. Add the cheese on top and bake for another 15 mins
  6. Serve it warm

cc4

  1. Hey, you wimped out of trying the beetroot! Heh, it’s still a great recipe. I’m determined to convince you of how delicious beetroot can be, though😉

  2. I would never have thought to use carrot and celery in my hair! Other than the missing beetroot, this dish looks wonderful.🙂

  3. oh, I forgot about this event (Sorry Scott!!). This looks yummy!

  4. I think they sound and look like a lovely side dish!
    LL

  5. I’m playing around with a tomato based sauce that calls for carrots and celery. I’ll have to let you know how it turns out!

  6. Your recipe looks great! I’ll have to give it a try (then maybe my kids will actually eat their celery!) Will you be sharing you hair mask recipe? (hint, hint)?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

