Petit Pain au Chocolat et Noix

 

Truthfully, I am  more of a “rice” person than a “bread” person, but don’t get me wrong I love breads, not as much as I love rice but I love them…and sweet breads are my favorites. I like my bread warm, even if it’s the “day after” baked bread, I always zapp then just a few secs in the microwave before I eat it.

This is just  my favorite sweet easy bread recipe, enjoy!🙂

 

Ingredients

Dough

  • 250gr bread flour
  • 25 gr caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp instant yeast
  • 50 gr butter
  • 75ml milk
  • 1 large egg

Filings

  • 100 gr dark chocolate (chopped)
  • 100 gr walnuts
  •  50 gr caster sugar

Glaze

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp milk

Directions

  1. Blend flour, sugar and yeast in a food processor for a couple of seconds. Melt the butter and milk in the microwave and add sugar and in measuring cup beat in the eggs and salt. Add the wet ingredients little by little to the dry ingredients while whizzing the dry ingredients.
  2. Stop when the dough has form a ball, remove the dough to a lightly  flour dusted surface, and kneed the dough for 10 mins.
  3. Put the dough in slightly oiled bowl, cover with oiled plastic cling, Let it rise in a warm place for 1 hour.
  4. Tip the dough, roll out to a large rectangle aprox. 15 x 30 cm, sprinkle the 3/4 mixed filling ingredients  on the 2/3 part of the dough and roll up firmly, cut into halves, put into 2 mini pans (5 x10cm).
  5. Let it prove for 30 mins, preheat the oven  to 180′ C.
  6. When they are ready,  glaze the top with slightly beaten egg and milk, sprinkle with the rest of the mixed filings,  baked for 20 -25 min.

 

  1. I love it! I like it’s such a small batch! Never though about doing a rice bread?😉

    • Zita
    • September 11th, 2008

    @ Clumsycookie: forgot to tell you, am a gluten bread person😛

  2. I will definitely be trying this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

    • Y
    • September 12th, 2008

    I’m more of a rice person too, but there are some breads I just can’t do without. This one looks lovely!

    • ichaawe
    • September 12th, 2008

    ngintip2 blog sebentar…seeet..masih rajin dan makin mantep aja loe bermasak2…salute!!!

    waktu buat ngeblog makin dikit aja niy gw zit…tanggal 15 dah mulai sekolah lagi anak2…trus mertua cewe gw berangkat umroh… rewpot laaaaaahhh…. ngurus anak ngurus mertua cowo.

    gmn persiapan pindahan???

    • kat
    • September 12th, 2008

    That bread is just gorgeous!

  3. This bread is simply divine!!
    Chocolate and walnuts with this tender bread must be fantastic!

    Loved it!!!🙂

  4. Your photos have a dreamy quality. The bread looks heavenly…

  5. Love the cute mini loaves. Looks like a damn fine breakfast to me.

  6. Fallen in love with these beautiful loaves…they’re lovely!!

    • Dee
    • September 15th, 2008

    Okay, I read through the recipe a couple of times, and I think I can manage it. I know it won’t end up as pretty as yours (grrr…) but it’ll still have chocolate!

  7. Oh my! This looks to die for, I probably should read food blogs when I’m at work, they make me sooooo hungry and cause me to drool all over my keyboard😛
    x

  8. Gosh, that looks really good! Recipe duly bookmarked!😛

  9. I love bread…but it’s been ages since I’ve made any because I’m a carb addict. I’ll just have to admire your little loaves. They’re so cute! and the chocolate just makes it so much better!

  10. This looks so good. First time visiting your blog and I will be back.

  11. this is freakin rediculous!!!!why are u talkin about rice!!! this is about bread!!!!! i love this bread!!!!!! yum yum yum yum yum!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

