Black Berry Chamomile Tartelettes

When I saw that these black berries were on “sale” (still expensive but it’s half off the usual price), in the supermarket, It was a joyous moment to finally had them in my trolley ;) . At home I couldn’t wait to use it, so I thought what could be better than to use it for a dish for special occassion.

I’ve been enjoying “playing” with scents lately… adore orange blossom, rose water… wanting to use jasmine soon,  sad couldn’t find lavender… Anyway, for Dhanggit’s baby I choose chamomile to add “the” extra, It’s been known that it’s very good for babies (small and big ones ;) ), and who doesn’t love fruit tarts ? Just hope she’ll find it perfect for her party :)

Ingredients

For crust

  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 100 gr butter
  • 2 egg yolks

For filling

1/2 cup cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon camomile powder

Directions

crust
Preheat oven to 375°F. Grind all crust ingredients in processor . Chill  for 30 minutes in the fridge. Roll out in the tart tins (6 minis or 10″). Prik some holes in with fork .Bake until crust is firm to touch, about 10-15 minutes. Cool crust on rack.

filling

Using electric mixer, beat cream cheese and sugar in medium bowl until smooth. Beat in heavy cream and chamomile powder. Spread filling in cooled crust. Chill until firm, at least 4 hours.

Arrange berries over filling.

  1. The blackberries are gorgeous, I can understand why you were so happy to find them on sale! The tart you made is adorable and so interesting with the addition of chamomile!

  2. blackberries and chamomile are flavors to die for!! Im so excited to try this tartellette in my kitchen. Im sure my guests will love this!! What a great entry you concocted for my daughter!!

  3. zita, that looks amazing! all your photos are stunning, but this… love the short list of ingredients – can I sub chamomile tea (whizzed, maybe) do you think?

  4. Really interesting/original and surely terribly good! A wonderful and unique flavor combo!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    • Zita
    • August 14th, 2008

    @Clumbsy Cookie : Thank you :)

    @Dhanggit : Glad you like it :)

    @Dee : Taste wise I think tou can sub with heavily brewed chamomile tea, but I guess it willl effect the colour of the cream ;)

    @Rosa : Cheers to you too :)

  5. Playing with scents sounds like fun. Could you do a post on the various scents you’ve played around with. Would make a very interesting read. Thanks :)

  6. Hi Zita – that looks so pretty, and the addition of chamomile powder makes it sound just heavenly. Oh, and the consistency of the cheese looks lovely and creamy…Bravo!

  7. Blackberries are my favourite berries. And who wouldn’t love this fruit tart. :D

  8. I love blackberries. living here in Vancouver Canada we have blackberry bushes all over the place growing wild. It’s nice to go for a walk and pick great big juice blackberries along the way. You dish looks amazing!

  9. My blackberry canes are loaded- I will definitely give your beautiful tarts a try! :) thanks for coming to visit my blog.
    xoxo

  10. Oh Zita, you’ve won my heart with these perfect & pretty little beauties. Never a chance of blackberries here…& I can only dream of how wonderful this must have been! Love the pics too. xoxox

    • Y
    • August 27th, 2008

    I’m a big fan of fruit tarts too, and those blackberries look amazing!

    • barefootster
    • November 14th, 2008

    Looked so delish. Curious how it taste like – I also love playing with scents lately, just made rosewater panna cotta the other day :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

