Almond Saffron Agar-Agar

Dwiana  has so sweetly invited me for this photography contest, it’s a cool event with amazing prizes, but for me it’s kinda difficult theme, as Indonesian cooking is seldom simple and often  multi-colours instead of bi-colours. However, to honour a personal invitation I felt I had to join and I hope she’ll like my entry as well.

Indonesian cuisine, is one of of the richest cuisine in the world, so many spices and so many influences. It has influences from the east  like China, India, Middle east and from the west like Dutch and Portuguese. Nevertheless Indonesian cuisine is very distinct yet versatile by taste and appearance.

So for this event, I try to combine two of main influences  (Chinese and Indian) and a well known Indonesian ingredient agar agar

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 2 teaspoons agar-agar powder
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond essence
  • Saffron flower to sprinkle

Directions

  1. Place the water and sugar in a small pan
  2. Sprinkle over the agar-agar powder.
  3. Bring the mixture to the boil
  4. Remove the pan from the heat and add the evaporated milk and almond essence.
  5. Pour the mixture into a shallow 18 X 28 cm pan to set.
  6. Sprinkle with saffron flower
  7. Chill for at least 1 hour.

 

  1. The dish seems to glow, it is that beautiful.

  2. I adore saffron and any thing flavoured with it! And your red dish is just adorable!

  3. selalu caem deh fotomu. Love the style and lighting is great! thanks yah dah berpartisipasi:)

  4. Agar agar with saffron, the first I heard of. Looks like a really nice dessert. Very nice photography, I like how you make your pictures look so dreamy.

  5. This is lovely, I’ll try this recipe soon. I love almond agar agar usually served with lychees.

  6. Years ago, I made a lemon mousse with agar agar- then somehow forgot all about it! It’s a really nice sub for gelatin. Thanks for the reminder : ) This sounds absolutely delicious.

    really beautiful pictures- they have an “ethereal” quality to them.

  7. i love the flavor!!!almond and saffran sounds great!! i love it!! goodluck on your photography event thing!! anyways your photos are great!

    • Zita
    • August 7th, 2008

    @ Dragon: thank’s *blush*

    @ Clumsy Cookie: Yap, I saw you smoochin with the saffron chocolate filling in Barcelona😉 thank’s.

    @ Dwiana: Thank’s, It was my pleasure to participate🙂

    @ Didally: Thank you🙂

    @ Oggi: yes, I know it ussually served with lychees or longans, though I could eat it even just plain,it is so fresh🙂

    @ Brittany : I preffer to use agar-agar than gelatin, because it chills & harden quicker🙂

    @ Dhanggit: So glad that you like it, thank’s🙂

  8. Oh my are those some beautiful photos

  9. co-incidently my MIL loves agar agar …lol …too much ref to them in our blog posts🙂 I would love to make this for her someday. It looks so pretty with all that saffron making a wonderful pattern in it.
    Thanks for the comment on my post, i would love to get the molds frm you. I’m quite excited actually. My mail is kajal.phytosphere@gmail.com

  10. What an elegant gelatin dessert. I have a few blocks of agar agar and now I know what to do with it. If only saffron was a bit more affordable around here🙂

    • Y
    • August 27th, 2008

    How beautiful. Reminds me of the agar desserts my mom used to make all the time when we were kids. I love that dish you put it in, by the way. Those circles look like eyes🙂

  11. If you like saffron, you will love this rigatoni with braised chicken and saffron cream. It is unbelievable.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/rigatoni-with-braised-chicken-and-saffron-cream/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

