Barley Orange Mint Lace Cookies

choccoo1

*Another picture for CLICK

 

As I mentioned on my previous post before, I have been around the blogosphere for quite sometimes, but I feel food-theme  is slightly different than any other blog themes. So let me lay out some things that makes me love food-bloging

Food-bloging lets you “move” beyond posting,reading and commenting. At first I made the blog as a recipes documentary, then I join the Daring Bakers  and KBB, I ‘ve been challenged to new baking methods and techniques , I never thought  I would even come near them.

Inside the Food -bloggers community all kind stuffs are created  from recipes showcases, monthly events, alliances (I know I put only a link to each subject but there are quite a few of links to name if you look out there) to a medium to look for a “parent” (how cool is that?). These things allow you to  be easily exposed to the  foodies world.

I started Flickr-ing long before I even start blogging, but I made my new account  just to compliment my food blog and also to join this and that. Now besides Flickr, twitter is  “THE” new rage… becoming a foodie tweep keeps you  almost 24×7 “in-touch” with FOOD!!!

And after all those if you are still hungry, then just sit back and have some cookies :)

choccoo3

Barley Orange Mint Lace Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup barley flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 175 gr unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp grated orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp  peppermint extract
  • 1/2 tbsp dried mint leaves

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180′C
  2. Combine in a large bowl the sugar, barley flour, all-purpose flour and baking powder. Add the melted butter, milk, maple syrup, orange zest, mint leaves, vanilla and peppermint extract.
  3. Let it rest for about 10 minutes
  4. Drop heaping tbsp of the batter onto prepared silpats form round 1 inch in diameter with 3inches space apart.
  5. Bake for about 10 minutes or until the edges are brown
  6. Remove the cookies from from the silpat to cooling racks, let it cool completely.
  7. Dip half part of the cookies into Chocolate Coating (optional), chill until the chocolate set.

choccoo2

Chocolate Coating

Ingredients

  • 250 gr bitter-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 50 gr butter

Directions

Melt chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl placed over (but not touching) simmering water.

  1. I haven’t tried orange and mint before. It sounds like a refreshing combination, and they both go so well with chocolate.

  2. yummy yum :-)

  3. I’ve never baked with barley four before. You got my interest piqued.

  4. how interesting! barley flour? what does it do to the cookies in terms of texture?
    and I quite agree: food blogging is best!

  5. thank you for a wonderful CLICK entry.

  6. I’ve been wanting to open a flickr account but I can barely keep up with things as it is. We’ll see what happens, I guess.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

