Brioche au Chocolat

I’ve used my brioche silmold for a couple of times, but never once I had actually bake brioche in it ;) , so  I felt somewhat obliged to make them, I just had to.

I’m always a little bit scared whenever yeast is involved in the baking ( I don’t know why, the thought  of puting living being, maybe…). Anyhow my brioches turned out quite allright, although I need more practice with making the “brioches à tête”.

I’m sending this to the  YeastSpotting, at Wild Yeast.

Ingredients

  • 250 grs bread flour
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 75 grs unsalted butter,  room temperature (cut in 4 blocks)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp  warm milk
  • 1 tsp dry yeast
  • 100gr dark chocolate for fillings (chopped)
  • egg yolk to finish

served 6 individual brioches

Directions
Mix in flour, yeast, and sugar in a food processor. Add slowly the lightly beaten eggs with salt, then add the milk. Let it rest for 5 minutes. Add butter one block at the time. Place dough onto a floured surface. Knead well for 10-12 minutes. Place the dough in a buttered bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour or until doubled in size.

Prepare brioche molds. Divide dough in 6 equal parts. From each part, reserve 1/4 the dough. Turn every large part into a ball and out and put the chocolate inside, then put each in a mold and, with a finger, push down to create a little place to hold the smaller ball. Cover with a tea towel. Let rise again  in a warm place for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 180º. Brush the top of the  brioches with the egg yolk mixed with a dash of water. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Remove from molds,  put it on a cool rack.

  1. I understand the feeling of using yeast. I was that way with the fresh one too. :)

  2. Those look delicious and I think your tetes are perfect! Thanks for sending them to YeastSpotting.

  3. Oooh love the brioche mould Zita & the little cuties that you popped outta them. Chocolate must have tasted GREAT!! Yeast is serious business…just when I thought I had a firm handle on it, it flowed & flowed in the donuts I posted last. LOL…that’s the challenge of yeast! What is life without some silly excitement!!

  4. Of course you had to use your molds! And you’ve used them very well! There’s only one thing better than brioche, and that’s chocolate brioche ;)!

  5. Oh, I think I need to add a brioche silmold to my christmas list. They look adorable!

  6. Shalom -
    These look winderful anf I will give them a try….I love the smell of yeast baking at home..yummy

    Dorit

  7. I really want to bake a brioche too but it seems more difficult than regular bread. You did such a good job – and with chocolate too. Yum!
    I want that mold, by the way :)

  8. they look so good & i bet tasted fantastic

  9. Looks like a great breakfast idea. or a midafternoon snack. or really any time of the day :)

    • kj
    • August 26th, 2008

    I think they look perfect!!!!

    • ven
    • August 27th, 2008

    hemmmm kayaknya dahsyat nih….aku mo cobain ah….nyontek ya mba

    cm nyetak pake cetakan muffin bisa ga ya…

  10. these look lovely. Not to mention the lovely cap on top :) chocolate filling ..oh yes yummy !

  11. Looks so cute… I want that brioche pan!

  12. hmm split egg yolk, i’m not expert for do it :(

  1. August 29th, 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

