Yogurt Honey Lemon Cake with Wild Berries Glazed

Just like breakfast, how  I start the day is very important. Baking this cake first thing in the morning, helped me a lot to be able to enjoy the rest of the day. The great aroma of honey & lemon in the whole house, almost hypnotized me to ignore my house chores :),but then, after I ate this (breakfast) cake,  I was so  ready to conquer my domestic life :D

Recipe addapted from here

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup plain whole-milk yogurt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon  finely grated lemon peel
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

For glaze

  • 1/4 cup wild berries jam
  • 1 tablespoon icing sugar
  • 1 teaspoon water

Directions

Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 350°F. Generously butter 8 1/2×4 1/2×2 1/2-inch metal loaf pan. Sift flour, baking powder, and salt into medium bowl. Combine yogurt, sugar, honey, eggs, lemon peel, and vanilla in large bowl; whisk until well blended. Gradually whisk in dry ingredients. Using rubber spatula, fold in oil. Transfer batter to prepared pan. Place pan on baking sheet.

Place cake on baking sheet in oven and bake until cake begins to pull away from sides of pan and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 50 minutes. Cool cake in pan on rack 5 minutes. Cut around pan sides to loosen cake. Turn cake out onto rack. Turn cake upright on rack and cool completely. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Wrap and store at room temperature.)

Stir jam,icing sugar and 1 teaspoon water in small saucepan over medium heat until marmalade melts. Brush hot mixture over top of cake. Let glaze cool and set.

  1. That looks so good!

  2. Looks like the perfect way to start the day! Honey, yogurt, lemon – great combo! Did you get your chores done?

  3. I love yoghurt cakes. They’re always so moist and delicious. I’m going to have to try this one. Your photo makes me drool. ;)

  4. Help the honeybees! Prevent the loss of the world food supply.
    Learn how you can help cure Colony Collapse Disorder.
    Visit thebeetree(dot)org.

  5. What a pretty cake. I like the honey and lemon combo :)

  6. I’ve been seeing lemon cakes a few places lately & its really making me want one

  7. You mean that if I eat that cake I might be able to do some cleaning?! Wow that must be good stuff then! It does look very good!

  8. @kevin :Thank’s

    @Lori : Thank’s, and yes I do get most of my chores done thank’s to the cake too ;)

    @Coco : Glad you like it, thank you :)

    @Dee : Thank’s

    @Kat : Hope you’ll make one soon ;)

    @Clumsy Cookie : It worked for me, but I dont know how much cleaning you have to do ;)

  9. needless to say such as your web page nevertheless, you must examine the spelling in a number of your content. Several of options rife with punctuational problems i to discover the idea very troublesome to know the reality however Let me surely return yet again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

